California, It Could Have Been Worse
It seems like we’re always delivering bad news to hyper-regulated California employers, so for those of you constantly going the extra mile to run a business in the Golden State, we thought it would be nice to brighten your day for a change.
With the CA legislative session coming to a close, we are waiting to hear which employment bills Governor Brown will sign into law or veto. These may very well include the Gender Wage Equality Act (CEDR members, we recently updated you about this one), as well as a bill that would put more restrictions on paying employees on a piece rate basis.
BUT, for now, the good news.
Here are two biggies that FAILED to pass:
- Minimum Wage Increase. SB 3 would have increased minimum wage in California to $11 per hour in 2016 and $13 per hour in 2017—if it had passed. The bill also would have automatically adjusted the minimum wage each January 1, beginning in 2019, to maintain employee purchasing power diminished by the rate of inflation in the prior year. Instead, for now, the CA minimum wage is still $9 per hour, with an increase to $10 per hour effective January 1, 2016.
- Double Pay on the Holiday Act of 2015. AB 67, Assembly Member Gonzalez’s attempt to require employers to pay employees double pay on Christmas and Thanksgiving, failed passage out of the Assembly. The bill was then ordered to the inactive file by the author.
So there you have it, California employers. Your lives are already pretty tough, and your state laws are decidedly friendlier to employees than employers…but it officially could have been worse.
Friendly Disclaimer: This information is general in nature, and is not intended to replace good counsel about a specific issue with either your attorney or your favorite HR expert.